Know The Unhealthy Ingredients Of Gelatin

    Gelatin, or gelatine is one of the most important ingredient of jelly. In our childhood, we all loved different preparation of jelly and were ready to give up anything for gelatin desserts. Although those tempting jellies or candies looked colorful with sweet flavors it may surprise to know that the basic element gelatin is tasteless, odorless and transparent fat that is soluble in water.

    Gelatin happens to have very mysterious rumors regarding its origin, composition, usage etc. There are religions that restricts the intake of gelatin because of some obvious reasons that we will discuss later in this article. So if you are skeptic about the Jell-O that you always long for, then here are some information about gelatin that will help in your decision.

    Know The Unhealthy Ingredients Of Gelatin

    Photo Credit: http://www.glutenfreegigi.com/ingredients-inside-jell-o/

    Another problem with gelatin is that vegans can’t have it in their list. Anything made of gelatin is out of there reach so the desserts that have gelatin must need to substitute it with other elements. We will focus on the substitutes as well.

    What do we find in gelatin?

    The main ingredient we find in gelatin is collagen. This is a scleroprotien found in tendon, cartilage or bone of animals. While boiling animal tissues or bones, the collagen that resides in the bone capitulates gelatin. Various tissues of cattle, fish, pigs etc. are significantly used for obtaining gelatin in industries. The most common source for extracting gelatin is pig.

    Therefore, we can undoubtedly say that gelatin is extracted from animal sources, so definitely it cannot be enlisted as a vegetarian product or meal. At the same time, any product that contains gelatin like gummy bears, Jell-O desserts, marshmallows, Peeps etc. can’t be added to vegan food product list.

    Know The Unhealthy Ingredients Of Gelatin

    Photo Credit: https://sites.psu.edu/siowfa15/2015/10/08/is-jello-good-for-kids/

    Jelly deliberately contains gelatin, artificial food flavors, coloring, sugar (or sweetener) and water but in recent days, most of the companies use by-products of fish to prepare gelatin. The main reason is that any kind of animal utilization is strictly forbidden for various religious people on different grounds.

    Apart from this, gelatin is widely used as a preservative in many food products like margarine and cheese. Gelatin is used to make various kind of capsule covers as well. Vegetarians may exclusively check the ingredients list on the label of any medicine needed, to be sure that it is suitable for them. On the other hand, we also use this as one of the principal ingredients of definite cosmetics, canned ham, soups and toothpaste. It is widely found in the form of sheets, granules, cubes and flakes.

    These is pretty much all you need to know about the composition and source of gelatin.

    Now we will discuss about the religious restrictions on gelatins and its causes.

    Know The Unhealthy Ingredients Of Gelatin

    Photo Credit: http://urbantastebud.com/category/vegan/

    Religious beliefs on gelatin:

    People who follows a stern vegan diet, happen to shun gelatin and jelly completely. In the industrial field, some manufacturers usually let consumers know about the animal resource of gelatin, while some may not follow this trait. Hence, it will always be smart to keep away from products that contains gelatin even if a bit, in case you are sternly against consuming animal or animal-based products.

    For the above reasons gelatin is stringently banned in some religions. For example, according to Islamic laws the people who believe in their concept cannot have anything that has got a touch of pork. On the other hand, Hindu people are not supposed to touch beef and any kind of beef by-products are barred in this religion. You should ensure with the kosher laws as well before consuming simple jelly or any other gelatin based products. If you pursue any religion with dedication of obeying all the rules whole-heartedly, then it is advised to check the dos or don’ts along with all the constituents of the products you are going to use that contains gelatin thoroughly.

    Know The Unhealthy Ingredients Of Gelatin

    Photo Credit: https://atypicalways.com/2014/07/09/super-easy-homemade-gummy-bears/

    Substitute of gelatin for vegans

    In this circumstances, it would be quite reasonable if vegans seem upset to discover that gelatin used to formulate their favorite desserts is purely extracted from an animal resource that too like pigs or cattle which has special limitations on the light of different religions, and hence, by any means should not be consumed.

    You must have come across products in super market that claim to have some vegan gelatin but with great regret we like you to know that there exists no such product like the vegan gelatin and nothing in the food industry can justify the concept of gelatin suitable for vegans. However, there can be a variety of substances that depicts parallel characteristics like that of gelatin and can substitute it in those delicious jellies or candies or the gummy bears that you happen to crave for all this time.

    Agar which is also called as “agar-agar” is widely used as a vegan substitute in gelatin based products. We obtain Agar from red algae or seaweed and use as the basic component in many desserts specially prepared for vegans all over the globe. Agar can be acquired from red seaweed or red algae through some process. We first boil the weeds then purify to get rid of the other elements and at last dry it to get the desired item. The characteristics of agar, although, are not exactly same as that of gelatin, because it is more oily and softer when compared to gelatin. But, it certainly works as an outstanding gelling agent in vegan jellies and marshmallows.

    Know The Unhealthy Ingredients Of Gelatin

    Photo Credit: http://www.naturalhealthyteam.com/powerful-old-school-home-remedy-which-heals-your-knee-back-and-joint-pain-in-1-month/

    Some of the other replacements for gelatin that vegans happen to use in their dishes include biobin, xanthan, guar, carob fruit, and carrageen but if you are not satisfied with the members of this list and their services there is always ways to prepare vegan substitute for gelatins and in this process you can easily avoid many harmful foods that we should not include in our list at the first place.

    You can use Sapote oil for best results as it is claimed to be very healthy.

    So this was everything that could have bothered you about gelatin. Read the information properly and choose the most suitable option for you.

    About the author

      Sarah Hanson

      My name is Sarah Hanson, Founder of CookyDaddy. My great passion is providing insights and advice on how to stay healthy and still get to enjoy trying out different types of food and cooking methods.

      Leave a comment:

      Leave a comment: